open books in front of a large window.

Mistborn Saga Reading Order

Spread the love

Note: This post may contain affiliate links.

Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn is a fantasy series that many people are absolutely obsessed with. This book series includes a heist story and allomantic abilities, which is a magic system based on using different metals to gain magical power.

Most of Brandon Sanderson’s books take place in the Cosmere universe, and this book series is so different. If you are new to Brandon Sanderson, this book series is a great place to start.

This series is on Scribd, so if you haven’t tried Scribd yet, you can try it for free for 30 days!

The Final Empire Summary

To avoid spoilers in future books, I will only provide the summary for Brandon Sanderson’s The Final Empire. This way, you get a good idea of what the series is about, but you don’t stumble across any spoilers in the process.

What if the whole world were a dead, blasted wasteland?

For a thousand years the ash fell and no flowers bloomed. For a thousand years the Skaa slaved in misery and lived in fear. For a thousand years the Lord Ruler, the “Sliver of Infinity,” reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror, divinely invincible. Then, when hope was so long lost that not even its memory remained, a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa rediscovered it in the depths of the Lord Ruler’s most hellish prison. Kelsier “snapped” and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate caper, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark.

Kelsier recruited the underworld’s elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom shares one of his many powers, and all of whom relish a high-stakes challenge. Then Kelsier reveals his ultimate dream, not just the greatest heist in history, but the downfall of the divine despot.

But even with the best criminal crew ever assembled, Kel’s plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life. Like him, she’s a half-Skaa orphan, but she’s lived a much harsher life. Vin has learned to expect betrayal from everyone she meets. She will have to learn trust if Kel is to help her master powers of which she never dreamed.

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Mistborn Reading Order

Original Mistborn Trilogy

  1. The Final Empire
  2. The Well of Ascension 
  3. The Hero of Ages 
  4. Secret History (companion story, must read after the original trilogy because it contains a lot of spoilers.)

Wax and Wayne Series

This series absolutely needs to be read after the original trilogy because it will contain spoilers to the original books. This series is set three hundred years after the original books, meaning that the original cast of characters is now history and the world is evolving. There is now more technology and more modernization in this series.

  1. The Alloy of Law
  2. Allomancer Jak and the Pits of Eltania (novella)
  3. Shadows of Self
  4. The Bands of Mourning
  5. The Lost Metal

Rumor has it that there’s also going to be a separate trilogy in this series, so we will see if that gets posted and updated. When that book series is confirmed, I will update this post to include that series.

More Books Set in the Fictional Universe of Cosmere

  1. The Stormlight Archive
  2. Stand-Alone Novels
    1. Tress of the Emerald Sea
    2. Elantris
    3. Warbreaker
  3. White Sand Graphic Novels

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *