Sarah J. Maas Books in Order

Spread the love

Note: This post may contain affiliate links.

So, you’re ready to venture into the world of Sarah J. Maas but not sure where to start. Don’t worry, I am here to help!

If you’re an avid reader, you’ve undoubtedly seen one of Sarah J. Maas’s books or heard tellings of the royal assassin, Celaena, or the crown prince Dorian. You may have even heard more about her adult fantasy series which has been lovingly referred to as fairy porn on BookTok. Whatever you’ve heard, welcome to the stories they’re all about.

For the best reading experience, this is the order I would recommend for reading these books. Plus, it’s fun watching her writing style evolve over the years.

Throne of Glass

The Throne of Glass series is the first series that Sarah J Maas put out and it’s where you should start. This series has a bit of a difficult reading order, which I go in-depth on in a different post, so make sure to check that out.

Throne of Glass Summary

In a land without magic, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She has no love for the vicious king who rules from his throne of glass, but she has not come to kill him. She has come to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three murderers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she will be released from prison to serve as the King’s Champion.

Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. And a princess from a faraway country will befriend her. But something rotten dwells in the castle, and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying mysteriously, one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival-and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

Thorn of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses

The next series you should tackle is A Court of Thorns and Roses. Personally, I read this series first because it is what drew me into Sarah J. Maas’s books, so don’t feel like it’s the end of the world if you read this before reading Throne of Glass. 

Make sure you check my full list of how to read the A Court of Thorns and Roses series as well.

A Court of Thorns and Roses Summary

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a terrifying creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not truly a beast, but one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled her world.

At least, he’s not a beast all the time.

As she adapts to her new home, her feelings for the faerie, Tamlin, transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But something is not right in the faerie lands. An ancient, wicked shadow is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it, or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Crescent City

This is the third series that Sarah J Maas has put out and should be read last.

House of Earth and Blood Summary

Bryce Quinlan had the perfect life-working hard all day and partying all night-until a demon murdered her closest friends, leaving her bereft, wounded, and alone. When the accused is behind bars but the crimes start up again, Bryce finds herself at the heart of the investigation. She’ll do whatever it takes to avenge their deaths.

Hunt Athalar is a notorious Fallen angel, now enslaved to the Archangels he once attempted to overthrow. His brutal skills and incredible strength have been set to one purpose-to assassinate his boss’s enemies, no questions asked. But with a demon wreaking havoc in the city, he’s offered an irresistible deal: help Bryce find the murderer, and his freedom will be within reach.

As Bryce and Hunt dig deep into Crescent City’s underbelly, they discover a dark power that threatens everything and everyone they hold dear, and they find, in each other, a blazing passion-one that could set them both free, if they’d only let it.

House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J. Maas

Publication Order of Sarah J Maas’ Books

I would like to be very clear, this is not the order I would recommend reading these in. But, I think it’s kind of a handy knowledge point so I am including it anyway. I will also keep this updated as more books come out as we can expect quite a few more coming out in the coming years.

  1. The Assassin and the Pirate Lord (2012)*
  2. The Assassin and the Healer (2012)*
  3. The Assassin and the Desert (2012)*
  4. The Assassin and the Underworld (2012)*
  5. The Assassin and the Empire (2012)*
  6. Throne of Glass (2012)
  7. Crown of Midnight (2013)
  8. Heir of Fire (2014)
  9. The Assassin’s Blade (2014) – contains all novellas marked with a *
  10. Queen of Shadows (2015)
  11. A Court of Thorns and Roses (2015)
  12. Empire of Storms (2016)
  13. A Court of Mist and Fury (2016)
  14. A Court of Wings and Ruin (2017)
  15. Tower of Dawn (2017)
  16. A Court of Frost and Starlight (2018)
  17. Catwoman: Soulstealer (2018)
  18. Kingdom of Ash (2018)
  19.  House of Earth and Blood (2020)
  20. A Court of Silver Flames (2021)
  21. House of Sky and Breath (2022)
  22. House of Flame and Shadow (2024)

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *