The Kane Chronicles Books in Order

Spread the love

If you’re trying to get through all of the Riodan-verse, The Kane Chronicles is such a fun series that you’ll actively enjoy reading.

This series is based on Egyptian mythology and follows our two heroes, Carter Kane and Sadie Kane. Originally, I read this in middle school and actually did a book report on it. It was personally my first introduction to the Riordan-verse. Just like all his books, I think you can really listen to it at any age.

Book One Summary

To avoid spoilers, this is the summary of the first book in the book series by Rick Riordan.

Since their mother’s death, Carter and Sadie have become near strangers. While Sadie has lived with her grandparents in London, her brother has traveled the world with their father, the brilliant Egyptologist, Dr. Julius Kane. 

One night, Dr. Kane brings the siblings together for a “research experiment” at the British Museum, where he hopes to set things right for his family. Instead, he unleashes the Egyptian god Set, who banishes him to oblivion and forces the children to flee for their lives.

Soon, Sadie and Carter discover that the gods of Egypt are waking, and the worst of them–Set–has his sights on the Kanes. To stop him, the siblings embark on a dangerous journey across the globe — a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family, and their links to a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.

The Kane Chronicles Books in Order

  1. The Red Pyramid
  2. The Throne of Fire
  3. The Serpent’s Shadow

Demigods and Magicians Books in Order

For this series, make sure that you have read the Percy Jackson books first as this is a crossover series between the two. While you technically can read these without having first read Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson, you will miss out on a lot of Easter eggs and prior knowledge that you would get if you at the very least knew what Camp Half-Blood is and the vibes of some of our heroes, such as Annabeth Chase and Grover.

Book Order

  1. The Son of Sobek
  2. The Staff of Serapis
  3. The Crown of Ptolemy

Other Series by Rick Riordan

Overall, this series is a great way to teach kids about Egyptian mythology and even if you’re an adult looking for a mythological series to enjoy, you will absolutely love getting to read these stories. I highly recommend all of Rick Riordan’s books.

If you like mythology and classic literature being enjoyed by someone with amodern day point of view, be sure to check out the Barely Bookish podcast! There are episodes on both the Odyssey and the Iliad, which is perfect for your enjoyment of Percy Jackson.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *