A cat with a black photo background

Warrior Cats by Erin Hunter Book Order

Note: This post may contain affiliate links.

Erin Hunter’s popular fantasy book series, Warrior Cats, centers around a clan of wild cats living in a forest. I personally read the first few series in elementary and early middle school, and while these book series are aimed at younger readers, they do not talk down to readers like many Middle-Grade books, making them still enjoyable for an older audience.

If you did not know, Erin Hunter is actually a pen name for four different authors, including Cherith Baldry, Kate Cary, Victoria Holmes, and Tui T. Sutherland. All of these authors have also worked on a variety of other books outside of the Warriors book series as well, so you may have read some of their individual books too!

At the time of writing this, some of this book series is on Scribd, so if you haven’t tried Scribd yet, you can try it for free for 30 days!

Into The Wild Summary

Into the Wild by Erin Hunter is the first book in the Warrior Cats series written by Erin Hunter. The book follows the story of a young cat named Rusty, who is living in as a kittypet (house cat) in a two-leg home. Rusty’s life changes when he discovers wild cats, and he sets out on a journey to find his true home.

As Rusty journeys, he meets other wild cats, discovering the warrior code they live by and learning about the forest. He battles through many hurdles as he strives to demonstrate his worth as a warrior, eventually getting the name Firepaw.

Firepaw is inducted as an apprentice of ThunderClan, one of the four warrior clans that inhabit the forest. He discovers their customs and is part of the competitive tussle between the clans for power and land.

Throughout the book, Firepaw grapples with his identity, whether he is truly a kittypet or a warrior, and ultimately must make a difficult decision about where he belongs. The book is action-packed and filled with adventure, and it is a great introduction to the world of Warrior Cats.

Warrior Cats Book Order

The Prophecies Begin:

This is the original series by Erin Hunter that started it all. 

  1. Into the Wild
  2. Fire and Ice
  3. Forest of Secrets
  4. Rising Storm
  5. A Dangerous Path
  6. The Darkest Hour


At this moment, we can pause and read through a lot of the novellas. While you don’t necessarily have to read through these, they do give a lot of backstory to the characters which can be helpful.

  1. ⁠Bluestar’s Prophecy
  2. ⁠Goosefeather’s Curse
  3. ⁠Pinestar’s Choice
  4. ⁠Spottedleaf’s Heart
  5. Crookedstar’s Promise
  6. Mapleshade’s Vengence
  7. ⁠Yellowfang’s Secret
  8. Tallstar’s Revenge
  9. Firestars Quest (more of a must as it sets up a lot of plot points.)

Now, you can also read the Ravenpaw’s Path Manga books as well, which includes:

  1. Shattered Peace
  2. A Clan in Need
  3. The Heart of a Warrior

The New Prophecy:

  1. Midnight
  2.  Moonrise
  3.  Dawn
  4. Starlight
  5. Twilight
  6. Sunset

You are also  in the clear to enjoy the Tigerstar & Sasha manga books which includes:

  1. Into the Woods
  2. Escape from the Forest
  3. Return to the Clans

Power of Three:

  1. The Sight
  2. Dark River
  3. Outcast
  4. Eclipse
  5. Long Shadows
  6. Sunrise

This is the point where you can pause and read the manga books Greystripe’s Adventure, which takes place from Dawn until the sight. That includes:

  1. The Lost Warrior
  2. Warrior’s Refuge
  3. Warrior’s Return

You can now read the novella Leafpool’s Wish without spoiling Sunrise. You can also read the Rise of Scourge now as well.

Omen of the Stars:

  1. The Fourth Apprentice
  2. Fading Echoes
  3. Night Whispers
  4. Sign of the Moon
  5. The Forgotten Warrior
  6. The Last Hope


Now there are a lot more novellas you can read, including:

  1. Mistystar’s Omen
  2. Hollyleaf’s Story
  3. Dovewing’s Silence (must read)

At this point, you can also read the super editions of Crowfeather’s Trial and Bramblestar’s Storm if you would like.

This is also the time to read the SkyClan books, including SkyClan’s Destiny and the SkyClan and the stranger manga books which include:

  1. The Rescue
  2. Beyond the Code
  3. After the Flood

This is also a great time to read Ravenpaw’s farewell.

Dawn of the Clans:

Chronologically, this happens first. So, while you can read this series first, I tried to mostly put things in release order, so this series can really be read at any point.

  1. The Sunlight Trial
  2. Thunder Rising
  3. The First Battle
  4. The Blazing Star
  5. A Forest Divided
  6. Path of Stars

You can now also read the novella Cloudstar’s Journey.

A Vision of Shadows:

This is the series that gets a little complicated, but I am going to do my best to keep everything in order for you.

  1. The Apprentice’s Quest
    • You can now pause to read the super edition of Hawkwing’s Journey.
  2. Thunder and Shadow
  3. Shattered Sky
  4. Darkest Night
  5. River of Fire
    • Pause to read Tigerheart’s Shadow.
  6. The Raging Storm

You can now pause to read Squirrelflight’s Hope as well.

The Broken Code:

  1. Lost Stars
  2. The Silent Thaw
  3. Veil of Shadows
  4. Darkness Within
  5. The Place of No Stars
  6. A Light in the Mist

Now you can read Greystripe’s Vow without getting any spoilers as well.

The series is well-loved by readers of all ages for its rich world-building, complex characters, and action-packed plot. It’s a must-read for fantasy fans and cat lovers alike! 

This series is always being added to, so I will try to continually update it the best I can. If you like reading, make sure to check out the Barely Bookish podcast which is always covering different books.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *